[Drive-In Double Feature] Get Possessed!

On The Horror Exam this week we had a theme of exorcism possession going. With that in mind, I think I have a good double feature lined up for your weekend. Now, for me, The Exorcist is THE exorcism/possession movie. But I felt like that was too easy. But hell, watch that this weekend, too! No, for my sixth DIDF, and as is on par for what I try to do, I’ve paired a recent film with a older (not that old, though), both of which are really fun watches.

Movie #1 – The Taking of Deborah Logandeborahlogan

(2014 / R / 1h 30m)
S: Jill Larson, Anne Ramsay, Michelle Ang / W: Adam Robitel, Gavin Heffernan / D: Adam Robitel

This was one of those surprise discoveries on Netflix I watched during my first #31DaysofHorror a few years back. Like I try to do, if you haven’t seen this yet, go in as cold as possible. No trailers, no IMDB, no Wikipedia. Just turn it on. Robitel shows great promise as a director in his feature debut, and Jill Larson plays one of the most unforgettable characters in recent memory. It’s jarring. I’ve only watched this one time and there’s an image of Larson as our title character towards the end of the movie that still haunts me. Honestly, you may need that 10 minute break in between movies to try and shake what you just saw. But get ready to end your night with a movie that is fun as hell.

Movie #2 – The Exorcist IIIthe-exorcist-iii-758371l

(1990 / R / 1h 50m)
S: George C. Scott, Ed Flanders, Brad Dourif / W: William Peter Blatty / D: William Peter Blatty

We talked about this with Brandon Voorhees back on episode 37. Listen to that show here (but not till after you watch the movie). I’ll be honest, when Brandon said he wanted to talk about The Exorcist III, I guffawed. Granted, I’d never seen the movie, but I thought it was nearly blasphemous that we discuss a sequel (the third installment, no less!) before the original. Now, as I recall my initial reaction, I’m ashamed. This movie kicks so much fucking ass you won’t believe it. George C. Scott (Patton), Jason Miller, (The Exorcist), Brad Dourif (Child’s Play/Chucky movies). And throw in Patrick Ewing and Fabio for good measure. All I can say is thank God Shudder put the new Scream Factory transfer up to stream. This movie is worth the $5/month alone. Better yet, buy the Scream Factory release here!  Have I convinced you yet? Because this is all I’m saying: You. Must. Watch. This.

Total Time: 3h 20m + 10m break = 3h 30m

Get scared with the first, then kick back and have a blast with the second. Your Friday or Saturday has just been exorcised.

Leave a Reply

