In Their Skin

Hulu currently has a collection of horror movies called “Hulu Haunted House”, which I decided to look through and found In Their Skin. I love a good home invasion movie and am never disappointed by Selma Blair, so I gave it a click.

First let me say, if I ever suffer from some kind of emotional trauma that leads to marital problems or a mental breakdown and I think I need to get away from it all and spend somet time in the country, please remind me I’m better off suffering at home. When you go to the country to get away from it all, you are 100% more likely to be murdered or haunted, years of watching horror movies has taught me this. Now onto my review…

A family finds themselves under attack while staying at their summer home after the tragic loss of their daughter. In Their Skin is not your typical home invasion movie. These are not burglars or your garden variety psychos; these are people on the hunt for the perfect family. They aren’t aiming to keep up with the Jones’s; they want to be them, by any means necessary.  One family will survive, but which will it be?

I read a few reviews of this movie and the number one thing people said was that it was a Funny Games rip-off. I would disagree. Sure they are both home invasion movies, and they both involve psychological torture, but other than that, they have their own stories. The overall feeling of this movie is awkward and uncomfortable, I assume its intentional, but can’t be sure. Either way it made for some good tension. Now, there are a few plot holes and some questions that are left unanswered and a few “but wait, the phone was disconnected and your cell phone was smashed…” moments, but I didn’t hate it.  I won’t say you should go out of your way to watch it, but if you’ve got a lazy Sunday and need something to stare at as you lay on the couch and eat chips and dip like I did, then this will do just fine. 

In Their Skin is the feature-film directorial debut for Jeremy Power Regimbal and was released in 2012 at The Tribeca Film Festival. It was originally titled Replicas, which I kinda liked better.

 

Leave a Reply

