#SummerOfSlash 2017: PSYCHO

Today’s the day! We’re kicking off our month-long adventure with Alfred Hitchcock’s absolute classic Psycho. I received this comment on Instagram two days ago in relation to the calendar I made. I literally guffawed when reading it: “Evil eye and psycho existed over a decade before slashers were even a concept… is led zeppelin death metal because it shares certain traits?” Seems like a real treat, doesn’t he? Some people just hate fun.

psycho-1960-movie-poster

A few days ago I revisited Gus Van Sant’s 1998 remake. Let me be honest with you all – I don’t hate it. I think Vince Vaughn delivers a spectacular performance. Sure, it’s so bizarre what Van Sant, but I truly believe he was doing some sort of weird performance art thing, delivering a message that no one gets. I could be completely off base, but there HAS to be some sort of explanation for this (near) shot-for-shot film.

Last thing: there is a documentary called 78/52. The subject matter is the infamous shower scene. It doesn’t focus on anything else in the movie but that scene. I don’t know what the release plans are for it, but IFC currently hold distribution rights. But you can watch this fascinating clip detailing the sound design right now:

If you’ve never seen Psycho, today’s the day, friends. Happy slashing!

And if you feel adventurous, this would be an excellent addition to your collection.

Alfred Hitchcock: The Masterpiece Collection (Limited Edition)

 

One thought on “#SummerOfSlash 2017: PSYCHO

  1. I haven’t seen the remake of Psycho, but I doubt if anyone can make a better version than Hitchcock’s. Anthony Perkins is perfect. When Heath Ledger played The Joker, I think he was influenced by the final shot of Psycho.

    I wrote a short post on Psycho (1960) called “The Consequences of Acting on Impulse.” If you would like to read it, I am open to any feedback: https://christopherjohnlindsay.wordpress.com/2017/07/13/psycho-1960/

    Like

Leave a Reply

