Interview with Filmmaker Drew Marvick!

Several weeks ago I reviewed Drew Marvick’s slasher flick, Pool Party Massacre. I was so in love that I then contacted him and harrassed him for an interview. What follows is a little peek into the mind of a man I could definitely see myself talking horror movies with for hours on end. Let’s get to it!

Drew, thank you for joining me! How’s your sex life?

It could be worse, I am assuming.

Pool Party Massacre kicked ass. It was a truly fun film and the kind of feature I seek out. What are you most proud of with Pool Party Massacre, and what didn’t go quite as planned?

Thank you so much, it makes me ridiculously happy to think about even 1 person digging a movie I made. Probably the thing i am the most proud of is just simply finishing the movie. So many people I know have started to make a movie and just never finished. Don’t get me wrong, I understand why, it’s really fucking hard to make a movie. Especially when you don’t have any money to pay people to help you make it. That is exactly why that is the thing I am most proud of. As far as things that didn’t go quite as planned, I think the whole movie would fit into that category. But the biggest thing would be the ending. Originally we had something like 5 days scheduled to shoot the end of the movie, everything from the killer’s reveal on. But due to a sudden scheduling conflict, we had to shoot all of that in 24 hours. So I quickly re-wrote what I needed to and we shot what we could. In hindsight I think it turned out pretty good all things considered, but the stress probably took 10 years off my life.

IMG_1505

The AV quality was outstanding! How did you accomplish this on a micro budget?

Luckily for me, I work in the business full time as a commercial producer. So all of my friends that I begged to help out, all do this for a living too. It really helps to surround yourself with talented people. Especially my cinematographer Brian Mills. He was actually way more than just my cinematographer, he was my partner in producing the film, he also edited it, and brought donuts every day. He is really good at what he does.

Your love of horror shines through in a big way in Pool Party Massacre. I get the impression you love Troma movies and DIY filmmaking. How long has horror been a part of your life? Do you plan to work solely in the genre or do you have other aspirations?

I am definitely a proud Troma fan. In fact, I won’t be able to die a happy man until I make a Troma movie. I have been a horror fan for as long as I can rememeber. My Mom was a big horror fan so even at a young age I was exposed to the classics. I remember watching a dubbed VHS of Terror in the Aisles in the back of our van on road trips. The van had a tiny little black and white TV in the back, with a giant VCR. I would watch that tape over and over again. My love for horror then expended into all of the great 80s slasher films that I still love to this day. I really can’t imagine making any other kind of film. Well, except a kids movie. Now that I have kids I am really noticing how much I enjoy kids programming. I guess it’s probably because I still act like a kid. But I would love to make a kids movie someday. After I make about 20 more low budget indie horror flicks.

IMG_1506

Your energy always appears to be set to 10. Is that your natural state or is it just how you pose for photos?

I am a pretty happy guy. I try to make the best of everything, and enjoy my time above ground. But I also don’t really know how to smile like a normal person, so I always look super excited in every photo. Well excited or dead, I look dead in a lot of photos too.

IMG_1501

Did you ever have a fall back? I work as a measly janitor and watch horror movies and pro wrestling in my free time. What would you be doing if you weren’t out there making horror happen?

I have been working in film or production for about 13 years now so I can’t imagine doing anything else. Before that I used to manage bars and night clubs on the Las Vegas Strip. That certainly paid a lot better, but I wouldn’t trade working in film for anything. And at this point, I don’t really have anything to fall back on. I am no longer qualified to manage anything but a set, so I suppose I would just try to get a job at In N Out burger. I heard they pay pretty well, and I have a tattoo of a cheeseburger on my arm so that might help in the interview.

IMG_1504

Would you send me a complimentary Pool Party Massacre hat even though they are reasonably priced at $15 on your website poolpartymassacre.com?

Hell yeah, just tell me where to send it. For a guy with a Bachelors Degree in Business I really suck at making money. I have a tendency to give everything away. Even my 10 year old son yells at me when we are conventions, he’s a better business man than me.

IMG_1507

It would be remiss of me not to ask what you are currently working on or planning to work on next. So, what are you currently working on or planning to work on next?

I have about 100 things I am working on, but nothing that is really rolling yet. I have some friends movies that I am helping produce. I have another friends movie that I promised I would finish. I have a documentary I started 3 years ago and would love to keep working on. I also have a super psychedelic gory revenge flick I want to make. And of course there is Pool Party Massacre 2. I started writing that. But for some reason paying jobs keep getting in the way of all these.

Would you consider making more “Massacre” films in different settings? Lunch Lady Massacre or 4th of July Massacre could be goodies.

I love movies with the word Massacre in them, so that is a YES for sure. It’s a running joke with my friends and family now, people are always suggesting new Massacre movie titles. I made the mistake of declaring recently that I was going to buy every movie with the word Massacre in the title, so I could have the complete collection. I underestimated how many there are. I am gonna have to sell my car, and maybe my house.

I noticed on Instagram that your son gets to tag along with you at events. Does he think it’s the coolest thing ever? What are you doing to ensure he follows in your footsteps to carry on your legacy as a horror maestro instead of following his dreams?

Oh man, my son Degan loves going to conventions with me. Not only does he get paid to help me in the booth, but he ends up wandering around becoming friends with all the celebrities and vendors. (and getting tons of free stuff) Every single convention we do, by day 2 all the celebrities that walk by know his name. It always blows my mind. At Siister Creature Con in Stockton I asked my friends from the Forever Midnight podcast to watch my booth for a minute because I hadn’t seen Degan for a while. I check the autograph tables and he is just hanging out with Jennifer Rubin and Heather Langenkamp from Nightmare on Elm Street, teaching them how to use a fidget spinner. That kid is something else. I don’t know if I even want him to follow in my foot steps, but it might be too late.

If you were on death row, what would your last meal be?

I am gonna have to say In N Out Burger. A 4×4 animal style, that’s all I need.

Which of your social media accounts and/or websites would you like to make people aware of so they can stay up-to-date on you and your projects?

I am the most active on Instagram and Facebook, both are @drewmarvick. And of course you can follow @PoolPartyMassacre on both as well, to stay up to date. I use twitter too, but just not as much.

IMG_1500

Thank you so much for humoring me. It was fun!

Thank you for wanting to hear what I have to say. I am used to spending time with my wife and kids, they are sick of listening to me babble.

One thought on “Interview with Filmmaker Drew Marvick!

Leave a Reply

