#SummerOfSlash 2017: A Nightmare On Elm St. 2: Freddy’s Revenge

Today we kick off our sequels week for Summer Of Slash. And today’s movie is widely considered the worst in a classic series. But I implore you to give this treasure another shot.

During our 13-hour A Nightmare On Elm St. marathon at the Alamo Drafthouse last October, we were split on the second film in the series. It’s quite a departure from the first film – I’ll agree to that. Is it the worst in the Freddy Krueger saga, though? In my opinion, not even close. Freddy’s Revenge is kooky as hell. It’s fun. And yes, it’s super duper gay. And that’s why I really really really like it (I can’t bring myself to say I love yet).

So, if you have never seen it, or haven’t seen it in a long time, please – PLEASE – give it another watch! Jesse is a gay horror icon, and that’s something we desperately need more of.

Leave a Reply

